DSC_0090

Tower Bridge from the foreshore.

When I started to talk about a fortnight of archaeology, I had a feeling inside that things would not go entirely my way, but hey, there was a fortnight of POTENTIAL archaeology, and it made a catchy title, so why not. Well, I already had to take a weekend break, and yesterday I woke up feeling seriously dehydrated, so I didn’t risk the foreshore/work combo I have used in previous years. Worse than that, when I got to work I found out that I had come in on the wrong day, so I was going to have to miss out on Saturday’s event, the Tower Open Foreshore, where I planned to do TDP Outreach with medieval replicas of artefacts which can be found even now on the Thames Foreshore. Oh, well, guess I’ll just have to do it on Sunday. Life really does get in the way sometimes.

But there was today. I revisited my graffiti and took some new photographs, which I have edited into my last blog post, so you can see it in all it’s glory. Then there was planning of timbers to be done. I am rubbish at drawing, but I did my best to help out with this, because it was happening in the lovely cool and shady corner by the stairs where the graffiti is, and it was a very hot day today.

IMG_7112

Cool and shady stairs.

IMG_7117

Planning.

At one point I ventured out for a wander along the foreshore, as I do want a picture or two of the barrage in the coffer dam area, but it was blisteringly hot, and I was soon heading back to the more comfortable shady area by the stairs!

IMG_7120 IMG_7122

These pictures show the stark contrast of the view up the river in the hazy heat, and the dark moist coolness of the corner next to the graffiti. Here’s hoping all the best for tomorrow and Sunday!

 

